Model assessment · Cuisinart

Cuisinart Precision Pro SMD-50 Series 5.5-Quart Digital Stand Mixer review

A discontinued 5.5-quart tilt-back digital stand mixer with a handled stainless bowl, 12 speeds, a 60-minute timer and three preset task menus. Four exact US codes share the verified package/function: Cream CRMNAS, Black GRPH and Silver Lining BCNAS and BC.

Sources checked 2026-10-24 · Our editorial approach

Cuisinart SMD-50CRMNAS Precision Pro digital tilt-back stand mixer in Cream with handled stainless-steel bowl
Exact manufacturer-page image for the discontinued Cream SMD-50CRMNAS. Cuisinart does not disclose photo-versus-render status. Cuisinart US — exact SMD-50CRMNAS Cream page
A useful fit for

A model-identification reference for a specific SMD-50: its standout documented workflow is the digital 60-minute timer and three preset menus alongside a 5.5-quart tilt-back setup. Cuisinart marks all four exact codes discontinued and out of stock, so none is a current buying result.

The main tradeoff

Compared with the current Cuisinart SM-50NAS, the SMD-50 adds a 60-minute countdown and recipe-task programs but keeps the same nominal bowl volume and one optional attachment outlet. The manual caps yeast dough at six cups white flour and cookies at five dozen. Its current stock, used condition and transferable warranty are not established.

Your needs, this model

Does it fit your priorities?

Do you want the SMD-50 dough menu to knead a listed bread or pizza dough and start its one-hour proof countdown?

The exact SMD-50 booklet offers pizza dough, white-bread and whole-wheat task programs. After kneading it starts a 60-minute proof countdown, but you still remove the hook, reshape the dough, return it to the bowl and cover it; changing to Manual or Timer for extra kneading cancels that proof timer. The exact family is discontinued/out of stock, so a current finder should not return it as an offer.

Explore this need in the finder →
Is a built-in 60-minute timer and guided creaming program more important than a current seller listing?

Timer mode runs for up to 60 minutes in ten-second increments and stops automatically; the Creaming task can be paused for scraping and repeated when needed. The current SM-50 page does not confirm either this timer limit or the task menus. Because all four SMD-50 pages mark the mixer discontinued and out of stock, this requirement has no current SMD-50 recommendation.

Explore this need in the finder →
Are the listed six-cup white-flour and two-cup cream-program limits important to your recipes?

The booklet gives six cups white flour for most yeast breads/pizza and a separate whisking program designed for two cups heavy cream to yield about three-and-a-half cups whipped cream at medium-soft peaks. Those manual figures do not prove a current product listing or a minimum batch size; the two-cup recipe is not stated as the whisk minimum.

Explore this need in the finder →
Cuisinart SMD-50CRMNAS Precision Pro digital stand mixer in Cream with its handled stainless bowl
Cream SMD-50CRMNAS. This exact manufacturer-page image shows the distinctive tilt-back body and handled 5.5-quart stainless bowl; Cuisinart does not say whether the studio image is a photograph or rendering.

A digital, reference-only five-and-a-half-quart mixer

The Precision Pro SMD-50 is a five-and-a-half-quart tilt-back stand mixer with a digital dial, twelve speed settings, a 500-watt motor and one powered port for optional accessories. Cuisinart lists four exact U.S. codes in this family: Cream SMD-50CRMNAS, Black SMD-50GRPH, and Silver Lining SMD-50BCNAS and SMD-50BC. Their individual product pages show the same bowl, tools, control features and warranty; the differences are finish, code and some listing details rather than a documented functional bundle. All four pages say discontinued and out of stock, so this is an identification and used-listing reference, not a current recommendation or purchase link.

Compared with the current SM-50NAS, the SMD-50 does not offer a larger bowl or a verified larger batch. Both have a tilt-back head, 5.5-quart handled stainless bowl, twelve speeds, one accessory hub and the same three tools plus guard. The SMD-50 adds a digital display, longer timer and recipe programs. For a used unit, verify the underside code, working display and complete package; a family name or finish cannot establish condition.

Cuisinart SMD-50GRPH Precision Pro digital stand mixer in Black with handled stainless bowl
Black SMD-50GRPH, shown from its exact manufacturer listing. The maker does not disclose photo-versus-render status.

Choose manual speed, a timer, or a task program

The LED control gives three ways to work. Manual mode lets you choose any of the twelve speeds. Timer mode lets you mix at one speed or change speeds during a timed session; the timer is set in ten-second increments up to sixty minutes and stops the mixer when the selected time ends. A timer can help you follow a recipe's planned mixing interval, but it does not decide whether a dough is developed or a batter is finished. Scraping the bowl and judging the food remain part of the job.

The DOUGH, MIXING and WHISKING menus offer seven tasks across the three settings: pizza dough, white bread, whole wheat, dry-ingredient mixing, creaming, whipping cream and mashed potatoes. Although the product-page sentence could be read as seven tasks in each setting, the booklet names seven total. Dry ingredients run with the whisk at speed one for a minute. Creaming can be paused for scraping and repeated. Its two-cup cream routine targets medium-soft peaks; firmer peaks need more time. The potato task is designed for three to five pounds of cooked potatoes.

The dough menu is the most unusual workflow. After its kneading cycle, the mixer begins a sixty-minute proof countdown. The manual tells the baker to remove the hook, reshape the dough, return it to the bowl and cover it while it proofs. If you need more kneading, switch to Manual or Timer; doing so cancels the preset proof timer. This is a guided sequence, not an automatic bread maker: it does not shape dough, verify that it has doubled, or eliminate later proofing in a loaf pan. If you prefer a simple speed dial and use a phone timer, the current SM-50NAS has fewer control steps and the same nominal bowl size. The older SM-55 and SM-70 use a shorter fifteen-minute countdown and three separate powered outlet positions, rather than the SMD-50's one outlet and task programs.

Cuisinart SMD-50BCNAS Precision Pro digital mixer in Silver Lining with stainless bowl
Silver Lining SMD-50BCNAS exact manufacturer image, also used to identify the same Silver Lining finish and listed package for SMD-50BC. The separate SMD-50BC listing currently displays the unrelated black GRPH image in its gallery; photo-versus-render status is undisclosed.

Use the manual's limits, not the bowl volume

The booklet sets maximums of six cups white flour for most yeast bread and pizza, five dozen cookies, six cups liquid cream (twelve whipped) and twelve large egg whites. These are maker limits, not independent tests. The white-flour maximum matches the SM-50's, but the SMD-50's cookie maximum is five dozen versus seven dozen in the SM-50 booklet. A 5.5-quart bowl is not permission to exceed either. Follow the exact guide; if overload protection shuts the mixer off, unplug it, reduce the load and let it rest before restarting.

The included tools are a chef's whisk, flat mixing paddle, dough hook and splash guard with pour spout. The bowl can be washed by hand or in a dishwasher; the paddle and hook are top-rack safe, the whisk must be washed by hand, and the guard is top-rack safe. Wipe the power unit with a damp cloth and never immerse it. The single powered outlet accepts separately purchased attachments, not a second included bowl or an extra mixing tool, and the manual says not to operate more than one optional attachment at once.

Check the exact finish and listing before considering a used unit

CRMNAS, GRPH and BC pages list a 14.14 × 8.66 × 14.13-inch footprint and 18.1-pound weight. BCNAS lists the same weight but no dimensions; do not transfer its sibling's footprint. The BC page says it is not for sale in CO, ME or MN. That retired-page note is not a current third-party purchase claim.

The pages list a three-year limited warranty, but do not establish used-unit coverage or transfer. Check the underside code, head lock, dial and exact tool package; a missing whisk or damaged display changes the ownership proposition. For a current mixer, compare the simpler SM-50NAS, five-quart KitchenAid Artisan packages, or bowl-lift models if their stationary head fits your handling and storage. None replaces the SMD-50's preset menus feature for feature; the discontinued code belongs outside today's buying shortlist.

Key details at a glance

Mixer arrangementTilt-head
Bowl capacity5.5 qt
Bowl materialStainless steel
Selectable speeds12
Included toolsChef’s whisk / Flat mixing paddle / Dough hook / Splash guard with pour spout
Powered attachment hubYes
Bowl dishwasher guidanceYes
Mini whip in the boxNo
Built-in countdown timerYes
Timer maximum60 min
Powered outlet count1
Published bread-dough flour maximum6 cups flour

Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.

Sources for this assessment

Start with the way you mix.

Compare head movement, bowl capacity and the included tools before you add optional attachments.